Daemon Diaries

cat /var/blog | grep posts | more

2 weeks with linux , thoughs…

with 3 comments

I guess I should tell you a bit about myself
My name is Mike , I am a huge geek who loves
things such as , programming , podcasts, and Linux, anyhow … lets jump right in
I recently installed Ubuntu Linux on an old dell laptop I had as a test
I had heard before that Linux extremely well on older hardware , I was shocked
The specs of my laptop are

  • 700 mhz pentium
  • 128 mb of ram
  • 10 gb hard drive
  • cd rom drive (no rw)

now for any other operating system … these specs seem a bit ridiculous…
maybe it could run windows 98 or something….
so after the install… I boot up expecting a
horribly slow system , and what do I find ?

I find a system that is just as fast as m 3 ghz+ windows box…
Linux really is awesome for old systems…

for my window manager , which is basically the desktop environment1
I chose the reasonably lightweight and extremely usable xfce which
should be easier to grasp for windows users than something more Linuxy2 like fluxbox3 for instance
anyhow…if you are a geek like me…you like to see pictures among the boring words…
xfce looks really awesome…kinda like this:


(annotated version here)
Well…that’s about it for now, check out linux using a live cd4 from ubuntu Here

Footnotes

  1. Yes…I know that window managers and desktop environments are not the same…I also know that you linux geeks reading are reaching for your email client of choice (probably mutt) to fire off an email to set me straight … I get it…please do not revoke my nerd license…thank you
  2. I love making up words
  3. Fluxbox is an awesome window manager by the way if you are a hardcore hacker and [A control Freak!] also like having complete control over your desktop [Literally down to the pixel]
  4. A Live CD is a cd that runs an entire operating system completely in ram , without touching your hard drive … good for evaluation purposes
Written by leachim6

November 18, 2007 at 3:01 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi, that looks great.

    Where can i get that wallpaper??

    greetings.

    Danieru

    November 18, 2007 at 4:35 am

  2. Thank you , as for the wallpaper , it is called “Fiery Descent” and can be found in a pack with a bunch of other awesome wallpapers at http://exoteric.roach.org , or can be downloaded directly from Here

    leachim6

    November 20, 2007 at 2:53 am

  3. Thanxs a lot!..

    ^^!

    Danieru

    November 20, 2007 at 5:54 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

